Mizzou Ed Recognizes Award Recipients at 48th Annual Banquet

Columbia, Missouri, March 17, 2015 – The University of Missouri College of Education recognized 20 individuals at the college’s 48th annual banquet held March 11, 2016. Dean Daniel Clay presented the college’s highest honor, the Friends of the College Award, to Gary L. and Carol E. Smith of Columbia, Missouri.

Gary Smith served as director of admissions and registrar at the University of Missouri for 30 years before retiring in 2000. He earned his EdD and master’s degrees in education administration the college. During his tenure at Mizzou, Smith worked for six chancellors and served the university in numerous roles and capacities. He and his wife, Carol, are active in numerous university and community organizations.

“Gary and Carol came to Mizzou nearly 50 years ago and their commitment to this college, university and community has never wavered,” said Dean Daniel Clay. “They are among the university’s finest role models as mentors, volunteers and leaders. The college is fortunate to have their support and friendship. Together they represent the best of the best.”

The College of Education Alumni Organization presented the following awards:

  • Outstanding Young Professional—David Shwalb
  • Honorary Alumni—Patricia Friedrichsen
  • Outstanding Achievement—Heather Dimmitt-Fletcher
  • Citation of Merit for Outstanding Achievement and Meritorious Service—Patty Schumacher

The Graduate Education Committee and Graduate Student Council Advisory Council presented the following awards:

  • Graduate Student Scholar of the Year—Apryl Poch
  • Graduate Student Instructor of the Year—Amy Ruopp
  • Graduate Student Leaders of the Year—Adrian Clifton and Ambra Green
  • Graduate Adviser/Mentor of the Year—Candace Kuby
  • Graduate Instructor of the Year—Erica Lembke

The Undergraduate Student Council presented the following awards:

  • Undergraduate Student Leaders of the Year—Hannah Ryan and Jackson Farley
  • Undergraduate Student Scholar of the Year—Claudia Singleton
  • Undergraduate Instructor of the Year—Leigh Neier
  • Undergraduate Staff Member of the Year—Betsy Knapp

The College of Education Diversity Committee presented the following awards:

  • Undergraduate Student—Alia Nejdawi
  • Graduate Student—Ambra Green
  • Faculty—Denice Adkins
  • Professional Staff—Norma Jackson