APA’s Student Affiliates of Seventeen Chooses Mizzou

The University of Missouri College of Education will be the national home of the Student Affiliates of Seventeen (SAS) of the Society of Counseling Psychology, Division 17 of the American Psychological Association (APA) for the next three years.

The national membership organization chose the University of Missouri during a highly competitive application process. As the host institution, five Counseling Psychology students will serve as co-chairs and several other leadership positions, as well as representing the student voice within the division. The co-chairs include Colleen Eddy, Gloria McGillen, and Leticia Martinez.

“This is a huge honor to be selected and a testament to our students,” said Lisa Flores, Professor and faculty advisor. “The students are excited about being selected, and are already getting to work to prepare for the transition, which officially takes place in August.” 

As the new leadership, the team plans to focus on growth within the organization, equity and social justice, wellness and positive psychology development, and excellence and innovation. There is also a focus on APA master’s accreditation and internationalization.