Faculty Announcements 2016-17

Dr. Chval Email 2016-08 Header 2

Welcome to the start of a new semester! I am honored and excited to begin my first official semester as dean, and it’s a great privilege to give you the latest news regarding our new faculty hires and promotions.

The following faculty were recently promoted:

Jenny Bossaller web



Jenny Bossaller, SISLT, Associate Professor w/ tenure





Pat Friedrichsen web




Pat Friedrichsen, LTC, Full Professor




Deborah Hanuscin




Deb Hanuscin, LTC, Full Professor




Candace Kuby web




Candace Kuby, LTC, Associate Professor w/ tenure




Lembke web 2016




Erica Lembke, SPED, Full Professor





Leigh Neier web



Leigh Neier, LTC, Associate Teaching Professor






Wendy Reinke web



Wendy Reinke, ESCP, Full Professor





The following are new faculty in 2016:


SarahBuchanan-webSarah BuchananSISLT, Assistant Professor

Sarah Buchanan comes from the University of Texas at Austin, where she completed her Ph.D. in the School of Information and worked as an archivist in the Department of Classics. She studies the creation and curation of data in the humanities with a focus on enhancing the storytelling potential of archaeological collections.




web Eklund KatieKatie EklundESCP, Assistant Professor

Katie Eklund received her Ph.D. in Counseling, Clinical, and School Psychology from the University of California, Santa Barbara. Prior to joining the faculty at MU she was on faculty at the University of Arizona. Her research interests include early identification and intervention for childhood behavioral and emotional concerns.



Susan Empson webSusan Empson LTC, Richard Miller Chair of Mathematics Education

Susan Empson was appointed the Richard Miller Chair of Mathematics in January 2016. She came to Mizzou from the University of Texas. Her research interests include mathematics teaching, children’s mathematical thinking, mathematics teacher learning and professional development for teachers.



Se Woong Lee 2016 web


Se Woong LeeELPA, Assistant Professor

Se Woong Lee is an Assistant Professor in the PK12 Leadership and Policy program. He recently graduated with his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin, and his research focuses on teacher quality and student outcomes.



Mike Metz web

Michael Metz – LTC, Assistant Professor

Mike Metz is an Assistant Professor in the English Education program. His research explores approaches to dialect diversity and student identity in English classes. Mike lived and taught on the south side of Chicago for 15 years before moving to California to earn his Ph.D. from Stanford.





Charles MunterLTC, Assistant Professor

Chuck Munter is an Assistant Professor in the Math Education program. His research focuses primarily on inservice, secondary teacher learning, including foci on defining high-quality instruction, the institutional setting of teaching, and designing for equity. He received his Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University.



Vickie Spain web

Vickie SpainLTC, Assistant Teaching Professor

Vickie Spain is an Assistant Teaching Professor in the Math Education program. She obtained her Master’s and Ph.D. in Mathematics Education from the College of Education, and is very proud to be a Mizzou Alum and thrilled with the opportunity to work for her alma mater.



Beth Whitaker web


Beth WhitakerELPA, Assistant Teaching Professor

Beth Whitaker is an Assistant Teaching Professor in the PK12 Leadership program. She joins us from Indiana State University where she was a professor and Director of the Faculty Center for Teaching Excellence. She received her Ph.D. from the College of Education at Mizzou.



Todd Whitaker web


Todd WhitakerELPA, Distinguished Adjunct Professor

Todd Whitaker is a Distinguished Adjunct Professor in the PK12 Leadership program. He joins us from Indiana State University, where he was a professor. He has scholarly expertise in staff motivation, teacher leadership, and principal effectiveness. He received his Ph.D. from the College of Education at Mizzou.



And last but not least, we have a host of post doctoral fellows and research associates that will be joining us this year.

Adrian Clifton – LTC, Post Doc Fellow
Ambra Green – SPED, Research Associate
Shannon Holmes – Post Doc Fellow
Jennifer McKenzie – Post Doc Fellow
David Owens – SPED, Post Doc Fellow
Sarah Owens – ESCP, Post Doc Fellow
Apryl Poch – SPED, Research Associate
Sarah Prewitt – ESCP, Post Doc Fellow
James Sinclair – Post Doc Fellow